My Only Desire is the Pursuit of Perfection

 Image

I choose to live the life I have always imagined!

I am in pursuit of that dream, that goal which always lies just outside of my grasp, but keeps me in wanting everyday. I desire to achieve perfection, even though I know it is unattainable. There is only one man who was perfect, his name was Jesus. No there were never any men like him, and there will never be another like him again.. But it is my goal, it is my heart’s desire to walk as closely as I can with God every day of my life. He is my rock, my support, he is the blood that keeps me alive. He has changed me, in him I am a new man, in him I become a pure spirit. He has given me dreams of this life that I never could have considered achieving on my own. Goals and objectives that are so beyond what I know to be within my power… but it’s because he wants to show the world how great his own power is.

How mighty the hand of God.

The life he has given me I am so grateful for! I am a Stanford student athlete, football player at that. Been to two Rose Bowls and I know that my team is only in store for more greatness. I have a beautiful girlfriend and a loving family and support from my community all the way across the country.

I envision myself in the future, ten, twenty years from now and wonder what kind of man I will become. How will the things I learn today affect who I am in the future. I’m still trying to figure out who I really am now, I have bits and pieces but the full picture hasn’t come together yet, I’m afraid sometimes that it never will.

I want to play football, I want to be a “rockstar”, who wouldn’t? You’re on a huge stage where millions of people watch you every weekend, and when we are in the offseason fans are still constantly anxious for whenever the games come back on television again. For many people their greatest entertainment of the year is football season. I don’t know what it is or why people go crazy over it, but I’m just happy that I get to be the one down on the field. All eyes are on me, my team. Every action I make, someone is watching. The pressure is on but I love it, I soak it in because it is what I live for- to be placed in high pressure situations because that is when I have the opportunity to bring out the best of me. When I am challenged on the field, a flip switches in my brain that makes me want to dominate my opponent, to humiliate him and show him that he doesn’t stand a chance against me. The guys with the big egos are the most fun, because they really believe that they are great and that they can challenge me…and so I laugh when they step on the field and line up inches away from me. Their smirk wipes away when they look into my eyes and see what lies within me. They fear it, they can’t explain it, they fear me because they know that I have limitless capabilities. The gifts that I have been given are incredible. But they always tend to look over my most precious weapon I use against them. Physically I can outmatch them, that is obvious, but what is not so easy to recognize is my mind, my mental toughness, my drive and my passion for being the absolute best that I can be. I know that I will never be perfect, and that pisses me off… but it also gives me the desire to pursue perfection as best I can, to get as close to it as possible.

Putting on my cleats and stepping out onto the field brings me to peace within myself. Football is a part of who I am, it is life. There I find my balance on the edge. No technological distractions, no cell phone or people asking you questions or sitting down taking a test… it’s just me and the grass, nature, which I love.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future”

Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

